The house of Timothy Goodman, on South Quaker Lane in West Hartford, was built sometime between 1750 and 1771. Timothy Goodman, who owned a tavern at today’s Bishop’s Corner in West Hartford, donated a parcel of land to the West Division’s Ecclesiastical Society in 1747 for use as a parade ground. This is now known as Goodman Green in West Hartford Center.
Trinity Episcopal Church, Wethersfield (1871)

Built between 1871 and 1874, Trinity Episcopal Church, on Main Street in Wethersfield, was designed by Edward Tuckerman Potter, who also designed the Church of the Good Shepherd and the Mark Twain House, both in Hartford. Like the earlier Church of the Good Shepherd, Trinity Church is in the High Victorian Gothic style and has a similar polychromatic roof.
(more…)John Williams House (1832)

Wow, I’ve been posting a building a day now for four months! This week has had a real Wethersfield focus, so let’s continue today with the Greek Revival-style house built in 1832-1834 for John Williams, son of Ezekiel Williams, on Main Street. It stands next to First Church and today serves as church’s parsonage.
(more…)Samuel Woodhouse House (1748)

Samuel Woodhouse, who was in the West Indies trade. He married Thankful Blinn, the granddaughter of the cabinetmaker Peter Blinn. Their son, Samuel Woodhouse, Jr., later built a house on nearby River Road. The house was bought in 1870 by William Hurlbut, one of the last Wethersfield sea captains.
(more…)Nathaniel Stillman House (1743)

Built in 1743 on Main Street in Wethersfield for Nathaniel Stillman, Jr., an officer of General Washington’s Life Guards.
(more…)Joshua Stoddard House (1737)

Traditionally thought to have been built by Eli Welles between 1737 and 1740, the Joshua Stoddard House may have been built later in the eighteenth century. It was in the Stoddard family for much of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Significant renovations were made in the 1920s and 30s, including the addition of a Connecticut River Valley style doorway.
Lucius Barbour House (1865)
Built in 1865 on Washington Street in Hartford, the Lucius Barbour House was once one of many such fine houses on the street. The others are now lost, but the Barbour House remains as an example of a mid-nineteenth century Italian Villa. Many alterations have been made to the house since it was built, including the enclosing of the front porch. In the 1890s, the house was inherited by Barbour’s son, Lucius A. Barbour, who was president of the Willimantic Linen Company. He updated the interior in the Colonial Revival style. His son, Lucius B. Barbour, as State Examiner of Public Records, directed the compilation of the Barbour Collection of Connecticut Vital Records, an important source for the study of genealogy. The first two floors of the Barbour House are currently the offices of a law firm, while the top floor is the home and studio of an artist.
You must be logged in to post a comment.