Fairfield County Courthouse (1899)

fairfield-county-courthouse.jpg

Three successive courthouses have stood on the same spot on Danbury’s Main Street. The first was built in 1785 and the second in 1823-1824. This latter building was enlarged in 1879, but the need for an even larger structure led to the building of the Fairfield County Courthouse of 1899. The architect was Warren R. Briggs of Bridgeport, who also designed the Fairfield County Courthouse in Bridgeport (1888) and the Connecticut Building for the World’s Colombian Exposition (1893). Today, the copper-domed Courthouse in Danbury serves as the Courthouse for Juvenile Matters.

Edgecomb-Gates House (1835)

15-gravel-street.jpg

The house at 15 Gravel Street in Mystic was built around 1835 by Daniel D. Edgecomb, a carpenter who made coffins in his basement workshop. In 1847, the house was acquired by Captain Gurdon Gates, who added the intricately detailed porch. The oldest of four brothers, who all became sea captains, Gurdon Gates was known for his record run in 1866 around the Horn in the clipper ship, Twilight. He also commanded other ships, including the steamship, Victor, during the Civil War. After his retirement from the sea, he was involved in business and politics, serving in the Connecticut Assembly. Gravel Street was known as “Captain’s Walk” because all of the homes there but one once belonged to sea captains.

John Rider House (1785)

rider-house.jpg

John Rider was a Danbury carpenter, who also served as a state militia captain during the Revolutionary War. The house of John and his wife Mary was built in 1785 and was occupied by members of the Rider family until 1925. In 1941, the house was saved from potential destruction through the action of citizens, who formed the Danbury Historical Society and Arts Center. This organization merged, in 1947, with the Scott Fanton Museum to form the Danbury Museum and Historical Society. The Rider House on Main Street is today a museum and has been joined by other historic structures, which together form the Museum’s main campus.