The Asahel Hart House, in the Worthington Ridge Historic District in Berlin, was built around 1786. The doorway, with its semi-circular window, is clearly in the Federal style. A chimney on the southern half must have been removed at some point. Asahel Hart was a tailor, who had his shop in the rear. After his death in 1821, his son, Freedom Hart, inherited the property and had a shop where he made combs from the shells of the turtles that were found in abundance in Berlin’s swampy areas.
Keeney Memorial Cultural Center (1893)

Constructed in 1893, on Main Street in Wethersfield, the Keeney Memorial Cultural Center was originally a public school and later served as a court and a library. In 1985, the building was renovated with support from Mrs. William Keeney, becoming a cultural center named in honor of her son, Robert Allan Keeney, who was lost at age 21, when the U.S.S. Indianapolis was sunk in the final days of World War II. The Center houses the Wethersfield Historical Society.
Deacon John Hart House (1740)
Across Main Street from First Congregational Church in Farmington is the house built in 1740 for Deacon John Hart. Like a number of other historic buildings on Main Street, the house of John Hart is now owned by Miss Porter’s School.
Timothy Cowles House (1815)
The house built in 1815 for Major Timothy Cowles, on Main Street in Farmington, just south of First Congregational Church, is notable for its three pillared porticoes. When the Amistad survivors were staying in Farmington in 1841, Kagne, one of the three young girls in the group, was probably sheltered in the Timothy Cowles House. The house now owned by Miss Porter’s School.
Timothy Goodman House (1750)
The house of Timothy Goodman, on South Quaker Lane in West Hartford, was built sometime between 1750 and 1771. Timothy Goodman, who owned a tavern at today’s Bishop’s Corner in West Hartford, donated a parcel of land to the West Division’s Ecclesiastical Society in 1747 for use as a parade ground. This is now known as Goodman Green in West Hartford Center.
Trinity Episcopal Church, Wethersfield (1871)

Built between 1871 and 1874, Trinity Episcopal Church, on Main Street in Wethersfield, was designed by Edward Tuckerman Potter, who also designed the Church of the Good Shepherd and the Mark Twain House, both in Hartford. Like the earlier Church of the Good Shepherd, Trinity Church is in the High Victorian Gothic style and has a similar polychromatic roof.
(more…)John Williams House (1832)

Wow, I’ve been posting a building a day now for four months! This week has had a real Wethersfield focus, so let’s continue today with the Greek Revival-style house built in 1832-1834 for John Williams, son of Ezekiel Williams, on Main Street. It stands next to First Church and today serves as church’s parsonage.
(more…)
You must be logged in to post a comment.